Hiking the Pichincha Volcano in Quito, Ecuador

Some people love the waters while others love the party scene. I find hiking up a mountain almost therapeutic. Every destination we have traveled has always included some sort of hiking and mountain, and Ecuador was no different. Before we could start our expedition to Galapagos Islands, we decided to hike the Pichincha Volcano in Quito, Ecuador. We began our journey by taking a cab from the city to the Quito Teleferico to catch our cable car. I have heard the lines could get pretty crazy on the weekends. Luckily for us we were there on a weekday. We started our cable car ride to the Pichincha mountain. The cable car ride is the highest aerial lifts in the world. While I wasn’t aware of that as I sat on the cable car, the view while being spectacular was almost eerie. The gondola climbs from 2900 ft to 4100 ft in 10 minutes.

Hiking up the Pichincha was absolutely on my must do’s and I was prepared for my hike with my jacket and camera. We walked up the Pichincha mountain slowly and instantly could feel the altitude kick in. While my light weight travel buddy (aka my husband) has always had altitude sickness, I was amazed to feel some pressure in my head as well. We took deep breathes and continued hiking. At some point, we decided against hiking to the top. My husband was extremely sick from the altitude sickness, and he stayed back while I walked further. I did not want to walk all the way to the top by myself. Since it was a weekday there were very few hikers. We got some cocoa tea for his altitude sickness and returned back to the city. While I was disappointed to have not hiked to the summit, the gondola ride and the mountain in her glory made it my favorite in Quito.

IMG_4585 IMG_4586 IMG_4587 IMG_4588 IMG_4589 IMG_4590 IMG_4591 IMG_4592 IMG_4593 IMG_4594 IMG_4596 IMG_4597 IMG_4598 IMG_4599 IMG_4600 IMG_4601 IMG_4602 IMG_4604 IMG_4605 IMG_4606 IMG_4607 IMG_4608 IMG_4609 IMG_4610 IMG_4611 IMG_4613 IMG_4614

Leave a Reply

