HIKING THE REDWOOD REGIONAL PARK

Hiking is more than just an exercise for me, it charges my depleted battery and invigorates me. I enjoy scaling the mountain and reaching the summit. In my own weird way, I feel close to my dad as I stand on top of the mountain. My dad passed away years ago, and even after twenty years I feel connected to him as I stand on a mountain. After hiking Mission Peak for exercise twice to three times a week, this June my husband and I adopted a german shepherd puppy Zed. Since June, I have stayed away from hiking and have missed it terribly. During this Labor day weekend, we took our puppy hiking not once, but thrice. He had all his shots and we were elated to abuse his tiny paws.
Redwoods Regional Park in Oakland was one of our hikes. We were looking for reasonably easy hike that was shady for his black fur. Encrusted by acres of redwoods, nature provided a shady carpet for Zed’s tiny paws. The park has several acres of land with children’s park, fishing and camp grounds. There was even a wedding happening in one of the camp grounds. We walked for two hours before turning back to our car. Zed was famished and tired to say the least. He was knocked out the moment he sat in our car which was our mission.

IMG_5484 IMG_5489 IMG_5490 IMG_5494 IMG_5499 IMG_5504 IMG_5505 IMG_5507 IMG_5520 IMG_5524 IMG_5526 IMG_5529 IMG_5531 IMG_5536 IMG_5537

Leave a Reply

